The DTM has explained why Thomas Preining was not penalised for his race-winning pass at the Norisring, despite Rene Rast claiming he broke the rules. 👀
Manthey EMA driver Preining claimed his first victory of the 2023 season in Sunday’s second race at the Norisring after passing polesitter Rast for the lead with a “hard and opportunistic move” on lap 44 of 74.a few laps earlier, Preining made another pass at the tricky Turn 1 hairpin, sending his Porsche up the inside of Rast into the left-hander.
A piece of bodywork was also seen flapping from his BMW which, combined with 10kg of success ballast from his second-position finish in Race 1, meant that he wasn’t able to mount a counterattack on his Porsche rival.Speaking after the race, Rast said he was surprised by Preining’s late pass and felt they were both lucky to continue the race without heavy damage.
“It was very late. I was already committing to the apex of the corner. I was in the corner and got hit from the left-hand side. “The rules basically say that you have to be half a car length next to the car in front before turning in and then the car in front has to give you the space,” he explained.